无角陶赛特羊是澳大利亚最常见的唐斯羊品种,很久以前起源于澳大利亚有角陶赛特羊。此外还有一些不太常见的“老式”唐斯羊毛品种,包括南唐斯羊(Southdown)、陶赛特唐斯羊、汉普郡唐斯羊与有角陶塞特羊。


关于我们

唐斯羊毛


Aumore Wool使用唐斯羊毛制造羊毛被品与羊毛垫品,其中多数羊毛来自无角陶赛特羊。

唐斯羊毛可以来自任何唐斯羊品种,其中最常见的包括白萨福克羊(White Suffolk)和萨福克羊(Suffolk),后者以黑脸和黑腿为最显眼的特征。

无角陶赛特羊是澳大利亚最常见的唐斯羊品种,很久以前起源于澳大利亚有角陶赛特羊。此外还有一些不太常见的“老式”唐斯羊毛品种,包括南唐斯羊(Southdown)、陶赛特唐斯羊、汉普郡唐斯羊与有角陶塞特羊。

除胯部区域(因沾染粪便而丢弃)以及位于膝盖和腹部周围的羊毛外,剪下的所有唐斯羊毛都将得到使用。供使用的羊毛整张剪下。一般情况下无需实施“割皮防蝇法”,因为这种羊毛非常短,绿头苍蝇感染的机率小于其他品种。

每只无角陶赛特羊剪毛时能够收获2千克至2.5千克羊毛,美利奴羊剪毛时则可收获6千克到8千克羊毛,相比之下显然称不上高产。这也是唐斯羊毛如此罕见的一个原因——与美利奴羊毛相比,唐斯羊毛供应非常有限。

唐斯品种的羊每年剪毛一次,羊毛可以取自羊羔、母羊和公羊。如果公羊在剪毛前不久释放激素,导致羊毛具有强烈气味,那么这些羊毛就必须丢弃。唐斯羊毛本身长度短,约1英寸,因此相比其他羊毛更富有弹性。这也是唐斯羊毛成为羊毛被品完美材料的原因所在。睡在上面时,羊毛不会压缩。

无角陶赛特羊寿命通常为6至9年,有些也可活到12岁。这些羊身体和脸均为白色,称为“无角”羊,因为公羊几乎都不长角。一只无角陶赛特公羊的价格可以高达两万澳元,因为它们的DNA无比珍贵。种羊场使用这些公羊繁殖优质后代,用以产毛和产肉。

牧民们熟知羊群中每一只羊的历史,例如它们的父母,年龄,是否纯种等。只要拿眼睛一扫,牧民就能告诉您每只羊的羊毛质量如何。羊群将接受严格的DNA测试,以确保每位牧民都了解哪一只羊为纯种羊,哪一只羊并非100%无角陶赛特品种。

这些羊的体重可以高达100公斤,因为它们拥有大量肌肉和脂肪,通常情况下每只羊每天的食量可达自身体重的4%左右。羊群主要放牧于黑麦草和三叶草牧场,夏天人们会割草以制备干草。夏天,羊群也可以喂食种植作物,包括苜蓿、车前草、油菜和芜青。

唐斯羊毛可能混有草屑,包括草籽(主要为大麦和雀麦草)和蓟。多数牧民都会尽力减少这些杂物,使用围栏将其他物品(如干草捆上的绳子和电线)与羊毛隔开。可能需要对羊只灌药以避免感染寄生虫,包括绦虫、癣菌和肝吸虫,但要视它们的具体地理位置而定。

在澳大利亚,羊群通常要与袋鼠竞争草地资源,羔羊还需要小心大量澳洲狐的掠食。为了保护羊群,人们会捕捉、猎杀狐狸,有时还使用羊驼保护羊群,因为羊驼对这些入侵者具有攻击性。凯尔派犬等牧羊犬经常用来协助赶羊。

多数澳洲羊一生都在户外度过,因为这里的天气没有英国那么冷。在英国,羊群须在羊棚中度过暴风雪和大雪天气。唐斯品种的羊具有极高的耐寒性。


使用无角陶赛特唐斯羊毛则能够制造出世界上最高品质的羊毛被品。在全球范围内,这个品种的羊数量极为有限,因此它们富有弹性的短羊毛往往供不应求。

The Poll Dorset is the most common downs breed found in Australia, originally bred from a Dorset Horn sheep many, many years ago. There are also other less common ‘old fashioned’ downs breeds including the Southdown, Dorset Down, Hampshire Down, and Dorset Horn.


AUMORE STORY

DORSET DOWNS WOOL


Aumore Wool uses downs type wool for its woolen quilts and under blankets, the majority of which comes from a breed of sheep called the Poll Dorset.

Downs type wool can come from any of the downs breeds, the other most common types being the White Suffolk and the Suffolk, the latter of which is easily identifiable by its black face and legs.

The Poll Dorset is the most common downs breed found in Australia, originally bred from a Dorset Horn sheep many, many years ago. There are also other less common ‘old fashioned’ downs breeds including the Southdown, Dorset Down, Hampshire Down, and Dorset Horn.

When a downs wool sheep is shorn, all of the wool is used except for the crutched areas (thrown away because of fecal dags), and the skirting located around the knees and belly. The rest of the wool is shorn off in one large piece. The practice of ‘mulesing’ is often unnecessary because the wool is quite short, and so the chance of blowfly infestations is less than with other sheep breeds.

Each Poll Dorset downs sheep yields 2.0kg to 2.5kg of wool when shorn, which is not a lot when compared to a Merino sheep that produces 6.0kg to 8.0kg of wool. This is the first reason this type of wool is so rare – there is an extremely limited supply compared with Merino.

Downs breeds are shorn once a year, and wool can be taken from lambs, ewes, and rams, although some rams’ wool needs to be discarded in instances when it has just released a pheromone causing the wool to smell strongly. The Downs wool itself is approximately 10cm in length, and when compared to other wools it’s very springy. This is the reason it is perfect for wool quilts, as it won’t become compressed when laid upon.

Poll Dorset sheep usually live between 6 and 9 years, but can live up to the age of 12-years old. These sheep have white bodies and faces, and are ‘poll’, which means the rams rarely have horns. A single ram can sell upwards of $20,000AUD, as their DNA is so highly prized. These rams are used by stud farms to produce many high quality offspring – both in terms of wool and meat.

Farmers are often well acquainted with the history of each and every sheep in their flock – who its parents were, how old it is, whether it’s a purebred etc. A farmer can look at a sheep and tell you the level of quality of its wool simply by scanning their eyes over its body. The animals are rigorously DNA tested to make sure each farmer is aware of which sheep are purebreds, and which are not 100% Poll Dorset.

These sheep can weigh up to 100kg, as they carry a lot of muscle and fat, with each sheep usually eating around 4% of their body weight each day. The sheep graze predominantly on ryegrass and clover pasture, of which is cut for hay in the summer. In the summer time the sheep can also eat sewn crops including lucerne, plantain, rape, and turnips. Did you know sheep only have teeth on the bottom of their mouths?

Natural materials can get caught in downs wool, including grass seed (predominantly barley and brome grass) and thistles. Most farmers do their best to minimise these pollutants, and to keep other items such as string (from hay bales) and wire from fences out of the wool. The sheep may have to be drenched for parasites including tapeworm, ringworm, and liver fluke, but it depends on their location in relation to other properties.

In Australia, sheep often have to compete for grass with local kangaroo species, while lambs need to be careful of Australia’s massive fox population. Foxes are hunted and trapped to protect the sheep, and sometimes an alpaca is used to protect the sheep herd, as alpacas are quite aggressive to these intruders. Sheep dogs like kelpies are often used to help round up the flocks of sheep.

The majority of sheep grown in Australia can spend their entire lives outdoors, as the weather doesn’t get nearly as cold as in England where they are often kept in sheds during blizzards and heavy snows. Downs breeds are quite hardy to cold temperatures.


The Poll Dorset downs sheep and its wool produces the highest quality wool quilts in the world. Globally, these sheep are of limited availability and so their short, springy wool is in extremely high demand.