研究表明,唐斯羊毛(如直径28微米,具有类似18微米纤维的卷曲度)的RtC值(抗压值)始终高于10-12kPa,而典型18微米美利奴羊毛的RtC仅约为8kPa。注:kPa表示“千帕斯卡”,是测量压力的公制单位。


AUMORE WOOL

唐斯羊毛背后的科学


您或许已经听说,唐斯羊毛是制造羊毛被品最好的羊毛,但这个断言是否拥有真正的科学依据?

Aumore Wool联系了全球羊毛权威机构——国际羊毛局(Woolmark Company),从羊毛局研究总经理保罗·斯万(Paul Swan)博士那里了解到了重要的知识。我们在此转载斯万博士有关唐斯羊毛的科普文章,帮助您以最简单的方式了解相关知识。

一般来说,唐斯羊毛纤维高度卷曲,但这种卷曲不同于优质美利奴羊毛的扁平二维波浪式卷曲,而是三维线圈式卷曲,因此唐斯羊毛拥有出色的弹性。斯万博士研究了多种纤维的压缩特性,在此过程中发现唐斯羊毛正是生产厚实但轻盈的羊毛制品的完美纤维。唐斯羊毛制造的产品不变形,受压后能够恢复。

唐斯羊毛拥有出色弹性,因此曾为制造羊毛袜纱线的主要材料。实际上,在旧羊毛分级标准中,唐斯羊毛曾因此被划分为“袜类”纤维。这种羊毛纤维较粗,因此它更适合放置于被套等织物的内部,而不是直接接触人体皮肤。 美利奴等更柔软的羊毛是出色的服装面料,但并没有必要的“海绵”特性,无法在承受人体压力后恢复原状。

斯万博士的研究表明,抗压力(如地毯在人脚踩过以后的恢复程度)由纤维直径(厚度)与纤维卷曲曲率之间的比例决定。这就意味着唐斯羊毛等厚而紧密的卷曲纤维能够形成更厚密的羊毛结构,容纳更多空气,并且更难以压缩。(例如地毯、垫子和棉被)

相比之下,纤细而近乎笔直的纤维,如Optim羊毛或SRS细羊毛,则构成纤薄、灵活、容易压缩及起皱的羊毛结构。传统意大利精细纺织工艺的秘诀是:纤细直径+大量细小卷曲波纹=柔软触感,同时保持织物不变形(悬垂感)且不易起皱。

AWTA(澳大利亚羊毛测试局)采用抗压行为测试法测量压缩2.5克清洁粗梳羊毛需要的压力。斯万博士的研究表明,唐斯羊毛(如直径28微米,具有类似18微米纤维的卷曲度)的RtC值(抗压值)始终高于10-12kPa,而典型18微米美利奴羊毛的RtC仅约为8kPa。注:kPa表示“千帕斯卡”,是测量压力的公制单位。

新西兰采用名为“Core Bulk”的测量方法。这是一种反向测量法,测量1kPa标准低压下2.5克清洁粗梳羊毛的体积。这种测量复杂而昂贵,专为新西兰地毯行业设计,不过可以使用上文澳大利亚RtC测量法简单地预测其测量结果。

这两种测试都能向我们直观揭示不同纤维的“空间填充性能”。第三种分析方法则对纤维曲率和直径进行标准测量,但只有了解这两种特性之间数学关系的科学家才能实施这种分析。


羊毛纤维卷曲程度和直径对空间填充性能的影响,有力证实了唐斯羊毛是用于制造羊毛被品的优质原材料。具体的科学方法让您能够更加直观地看到结果。现在请您亲自体验!


我们的羊毛来自何处

Aumore Wool制造优质羊毛被品所使用的羊毛来自何处?我们采用100%唐斯羊毛,在南澳大利亚州完成加工。

我们只使用优质唐斯羊毛,不使用腹部与胯部羊毛或松散羊毛。在澳大利亚,仅有不到1%的羊毛属于陶赛特唐斯羊毛,而在这些极为稀有的羊毛中,我们还要优中选优。

唐斯羊毛是制作被品的最好原料,这也是我们选择唐斯羊毛的原因所在。唐斯羊毛纤维直径为32微米,与其他羊毛相比具有令人惊叹的弹性。受到挤压后,唐斯羊毛会表现出强大的“恢复”能力,很快弹回原形。如用来制造被品,与弹性较差的羊毛相比,唐斯羊毛更松软,因此长时间使用也不会被压平。

这种唐斯羊毛来自羊羔和成年绵羊,每只羊的产毛期为8到9年。在去除羊毛脂之前,Aumore优质唐斯羊毛的“未脱脂长度”在60毫米到70毫米之间。这些纤维与其他羊毛相比非常纤长,因此制成羊毛被后极少出现钻毛现象。

根据羊毛草屑含量,Aumore合作的羊毛加工商对羊毛进行简单梳理和冲洗(对于含有0.1%至1.0%草屑的羊毛)或者碳化处理(对于含有1.0%至5.0%草屑的羊毛)。我们的羊毛加工商是一家澳大利亚家族企业,已有145年历史(源自1870年),也是全球最大的羊毛碳化厂家。如羊毛确实需要碳化(清洁)以去除过量草屑,可以通过广泛而精细的加工过程去除毛刺与种子。

如Aumore的唐斯羊毛需要碳化,这些羊毛也将通过OEKO-TEX-Standard 100认证,属于婴儿使用一类产品(Baby Class 1)。

这意味着我们的碳化羊毛完成碳化过程后已通过测试,确保纤维不残留任何有害化学物质。这些羊毛还使用不含APEO的绿色清洁剂处理。

为清洁羊毛,首先通过振动去除毛刺和种子,对羊毛进行梳理、洗刷与清洗,然后加热到100摄氏度烘干,将草屑变成黑灰。接下来通过粉碎和除尘过程除去这些灰分。最后,使用绿色洗涤剂再次洗涤羊毛。整个过程确保任何羊毛纤维不受损害。

Aumore唐斯羊毛被品无论铺在身下或盖在身上,能保持均匀温度,给您以冬暖夏凉的美好感受。羊毛可以保存占其重量15%的水分而不会感觉潮湿,为您的一夜安眠眠保驾护航。研究表明,使用羊毛被品会让您的睡眠时间平均每晚增加7分钟,相当于每年增加两天睡眠时间。一觉醒来,精神百倍,我们都知道这种感觉有多么重要。

In old wool classing standards, downs wools were actually classified as ‘hosiery types’ for this reason. This type of wool has a relatively coarse fibre thickness, which means it is better suited to being inside of fabric such as a quilt cover, as opposed to coming in direct contact with a person’s skin.


AUMORE WOOL

FACTS & FIGURES


You may have been told downs wool is the best type of wool for the production of wool quilts, but is there a genuine scientific basis for this assertion?

Aumore Wool contacted the global authority on wool, The Woolmark Company, and received some very important knowledge and wisdom on the topic from Woolmark’s General Manager for Research, Dr. Paul Swan. We’ve relayed Dr. Swan’s scientific communication about downs wool here to enlighten you in the simplest way possible.

In layman’s terms, downs wool fibres are highly crimped, yet the crimp isn’t a flat 2-dimesional wave as found in premium quality Merino wool, but a 3-dimension coil, allowing for excellent springiness. Dr. Swan studies the compressional properties of various fibres, and while doing so has discovered downs wools as being wonderful fibres for producing light, yet thick wool-based products. The result is products with wool that hold their shape and bounce back after being compacted.

Downs wools have great elasticity and so were previously used as the main fibre within wool hosiery yarns. In old wool classing standards, downs wools were actually classified as ‘hosiery types’ for this reason. This type of wool has a relatively coarse fibre thickness, which means it is better suited to being inside of fabric such as a quilt cover, as opposed to coming in direct contact with a person’s skin. Softer wools like Merino make excellent clothing, but do not have the ‘sponginess’ required to withstand a human being lying on top of it.

Dr. Swan’s research shows resistance to compressional force (E.G. how much a carpet can stand up to footsteps upon it) is a mathematical function of fibre diameter (thickness) and fibre crimp curvature. This means thick, tightly crimped fibres such as downs wool produce woolen structures (For example, yarns, carpets, and fibre mats like quilts), which are thicker, hold more air, and are harder to compress.

By contrast, thin, nearly straight fibres such as Optim wool or SRS fine wools produce thin, flexible, easily compressed and creased woolen structures. The traditional Italian recipe for fine wovens is: Fine diameter + A lot of fine crimp waves = Soft to touch, yet holds its shape (drape), and doesn’t crease too easily.

The AWTA (Australian Wool Testing Authority) has a relevant test method: the Resistance to Compression behavior test, which measures how much pressure is needed to compress 2.5 grams of clean, carded wool. Dr. Swan’s research shows downs wools (E.G. 28 microns thick, but with a crimp similar to an 18 micron fibre) always generate RtC (Resistance to Compression) values of greater than 10-12 kPa, while typical 18 micron Merino only generate values of around 8 kPa. Note: kPa means ‘kilopascals’, and is the metric unit used for the measurement of pressure.

In New Zealand, a measurement called ‘Core Bulk’ is used. This is an inverse approach measuring the volume occupied by 2.5 grams of clean, carded wool at a standard low pressure of 1 kPa. This complex and expensive test was designed specifically for New Zealand’s carpet industry, but its results are easily predictable by using the simple aforementioned Australian RtC test.

Both of these tests inform us greatly about the ‘space filling properties’ of various fibres. A third analysis also exists using the standard measure of fibre curvature and diameter, but only scientists who know the mathematical relationship between these two properties can perform this assessment.


How the crimp and diameter of a wool fibre affects space-filling properties is the main proof downs wool is the superior raw wool fibre for quilting. The science is here for you to see. Now, all you have to do is feel it for yourself!


Where our wool comes from

Where does Aumore Wool obtain the wool needed to produce its quality wool quilts? Our wool is 100% Downs Wool, processed in the state of South Australia.

We only source premium Downs Wool fleece, not wool shorn around the sheep’s belly, crutch, or from loose wool. Less than 1% of all sheep’s wool in Australia is Dorset Downs Wool, and we only use the best fleece from this already extremely rare wool.

The reason we use Downs Wool is because it is the best type of wool for making quilts. The diameter of the wool fibre is 32 microns, which means it’s incredibly springy compared to other wools. When squished down it has great ‘recovery’, meaning it bounces right back into shape. For quilts, Downs Wool feels spongy, so over time it doesn’t flatten down much when compared to less springy types of wool.

This Downs Wool is shorn from both lambs and full-grown sheep, the animals being able to produce wool for 8 to 9 years. Before its lanolin is removed, Aumore’s premium Downs Wools’ so-called ‘greasy length’ is 60mm to 70mm in measurement. These fibres are extremely long when compared to other wools, and for our wool quilts this means flyaway fibres rarely if ever occur.

Depending on the amount of vegetative matter in the wool, Aumore’s wool processor either simply combs and scours the wool (when it contains 0.1% to 1.0% of vegetative matter), or carbonises it (when it contains 1.0% to 5.0% of vegetative matter). Our wool processor is family owned by Australians, has been running for over 145 years (since 1870), and is the largest carbonising plant in the world. When the wool needs to be carbonised (cleaned) of excess vegetative matter, burr and seed is removed via an extensive and elaborate process.

When Aumore’s downs wool needs to be carbonised, the resulting carbonised wool is rated as OEKO-TEX-Standard 100 certified, Baby Class 1.

This means our carbonised wool has been tested after the entire carbonisation process has been completed to ensure no harmful chemicals remain on the fibre. The wool is also processed with APEO-free, green friendly detergents. Most important to note is carbonisation is done to remove excess vegetative matter from the wool, but does not affect its quality or safety aspects.

To clean the wool, the burr and seed is first shaken off, the wool is combed and scoured, washed, and then baked at 100 degrees Celsius, turning the vegetative matter into black ash. This ash is then removed via crushing and dusting processes. Finally, the wool is rewashed with green-friendly detergents. The entire process ensures no wool fibres are damaged.

Aumore Downs Wool quilts maintain an even temperature when you sleep on or beneath them, so you are warm and dry in winter, yet cool and dry in the summer. The wool can hold 15% of its weight in moisture without feeling wet, so you’ll have a more comfortable night’s sleep. Research studies have actually shown sleeping with wool provides an average of 7 more minutes of sleep per night, which equates to 2 whole days per year. This is significant to anyone who knows how important it is to feel energised during his or her waking life.